×
Your cart is empty.

Reviews (Industry)

September 2017

Jones-Scanlon Studio Monitors
Testimonials / Quotes

Introducing the Jones-Scanlon Studio Monitors to Earl Powell at Eptone Music Productions, Los Angeles, CA.Listening to these speakers made me realize that there was more to sound than I thought. I’ve mixed 90% of all of the work I’ve produced (Jennifer Hudson/Tito Jackson) and many more. I’ve never heard anything that even comes close to these!!! These are great for sound design, scoring, mixing, recording, and writing. All around great product!!! I’m truly grateful to have met Mr Jones and a huge thanks to Garrett Body.

Earl Powell
Eptone Music Productions

Jeff Barnes, VP General Manager, Record PlantWayne and Steve have truly designed a great set of versatile studio monitors that add a level of depth to what you are able to hear in your tracks.

Jeff Barnes
VP General Manager
Record Plant

Slavic Livins (Beyonce, Busta Rhymes, Christina Aguilera, John Legend, Kanye West, Keyshia Cole, Snoop Dog, Syleena Johnson)Why have a sports car when you can have Jones-Scanlon Monitors. The reverb tail is very impressive.

Slavic Livins
(Beyonce, Busta Rhymes, Christina Aguilera, John Legend, Kanye West, Keyshia Cole, Snoop Dog, Syleena Johnson)

Jones-Scanlon Studio Monitors ➤

 

 

February 2017

Bass Musician Magazine’s Review, by Jake Wolf

View on Bass Musician Website ►

If you’ve been following the boutique bass world since the 90’s like I have, the name Wayne Jones Audio might ring a bell.

David Dyson performing at NAMM 2017
Endorser David Dyson performing at NAMM 2017
I first heard about Wayne’s cabs a couple decades back, and although I never had the chance to hear one in person, I was very intrigued by their interesting specs and their relative rarity in the market at that time. Wayne was selling cabs here in the US until shortly after 9/11, at which time, Wayne says, “everything changed”. Cab sales in the US dropped sharply, and Wayne went back to his busy career gigging as a top call bassist. So when I saw Wayne’s gear resurface in the last couple years, I was again intrigued. His current offerings include powered 1×10 and 2×10 cabs, as well as his own stereo tube preamplifier (At NAMM 2017, Wayne introduced a good old passive 210 as well as a 2 channel version of his pre. More below). I reached out to Wayne and he couldn’t have been more gracious or generous with his time and gear. He promptly sent me an array of cabs and his preamp to check out, and I’ve been having a blast with all of it.

Before we get to how the gear works, let’s look at the equipment itself.

At 24” tall, 16” wide, and 22” deep, the 210 dimensions are fairly unique for bass cabs. I asked Wayne about the extra depth of the cabs (both the 210 and 110), and he responded that the depth allows him to not only achieve a desired cubic volume, but also the distance between the driver and the back wall is very intentional, in order to achieve certain performance goals. As a result, the 210 is a somewhat odd form factor. Luckily, it has a built in telescoping handle and tilt back wheels, making the schlep pretty easy. All the gear is covered in a very high quality black carpet, which seems better than a lot of the cab covering I see (Wayne responds: future cabs will use High end automotive leather look Vinyl covering). The preamp had a very nice build quality: all the knobs and switches felt solid and had nice resistance to the pots, thus reducing the risk of bumping controls mid-gig, and boding well for the gears overall lifespan. From a fit and finish perspective, the Wayne Jones gear is simply top notch. Read more ►

 

November 2016

“It’s seriously epic – Insanely well made
I want one, I want two! – It sounds AWESOME”
Scott Devine of ScottsBassLessons.com

Wonderful review just in from Scott Devine from ScottsBassLessons.com

Wonderful video review from Scott Devine of ScottsBassLessons.com for the WJ 2×10 1000 watt powered cabinet and WJBP Stereo Valve Bass Guitar Pre-Amp

N.B. Competition mentioned in video was for November 2016 and no longer running.

 

 

June 2015

“THE BEST POWERED CABS I’VE HEARD”
BASS PLAYER MAGAZINE’S REVIEW BY JONATHAN HERRERA

Bass Player Magazine editor award for Wayne Jones Audio bass guitar speaker cabinets - July 2015 issueWayne Jones Audio
WJ 2×10 & WJ 1×10 Powered & Passive Cabinets
Jonathan Herrera
for July 2015 issue of Bass Player Magazine http://www.bassplayer.com
View on Bass Player Magazine website ►

I WAS 23 WHEN I STARTED AT BASS Player in 2002, so no matter how precocious I thought I was, to say I learned on the job is an under- statement. Fortunately, I had the bass journo All Star team on hand to whip me quickly into shape. I leaned hard on each of my more experienced col- leagues, but early on there was no one I needed more than Terry Buddingh, whose knowledge and abundant patience I frequently put to the test as a nascent technical editor. Terry is genuinely passionate about audio gear and has the wizened aspect of a guy who’s played, taken apart, and repaired thousands of basses and amps. When Terry really liked something, I took it seriously; nobody sliced through marketing hype better. I can recall long discussions about innumerable pieces of gear that came through the office, but few stick out as much as his deep and abiding love for an esoteric 2×10 made by a bass player in Australia, Wayne Jones. BP glowingly reviewed the Wayne Jones 2×10 in 2001, just before I arrived, so for me the cab was the stuff of legend. Plus, its extreme scarcity meant I couldn’t pop down to the local Guitar Center and give one a spin. Regardless, the cabs went out of production in the mid 2000s.
Read more ►

 

June 2015

“THEY ARE SIMPLY SOME OF THE BEST SOUNDING CABS ON THE PLANET”
BASS GEAR MAGAZINE’S REVIEW BY TOM BOWLUS IS NOW OUT

Wayne Jones WJ 2×10 And WJ 1×10 Bass Cabs
Tom Bowlus
from http://epublish.panaprint.com/publication/?i=251644&p=44

 

Bass Gear Magazine review of Wayne Jones AUDIO products. Powered bass speaker cabinets for bass players, bassists, bass guitar players & double bass players. Bass player amplification, bass guitar amps and speakers.The Company Line

So many times, the things which fascinate us – sometimes to the point of obsession – are the things which are the least obtainable. This definitely holds true for bass gear, and for some time, one of the best examples of “unobtainium” in the bass world were those mysterious 2×10 cabs from some guy named Wayne Jones. Nobody was really sure just who he was, or if he even existed, but rumor had it that he was some foreign land, like Atlantis, or Australia, or something. Combined with what we didn’t know about Wayne Jones was that what we did know was that everyone who had actually heard them seemed to fall madly in love with them. So, of course, I had to have a pair of these cabs for myself!

I was lucky enough to snag two Wayne Jones 2×10’s on the used market, and sure enough, they lived up to the hype. Yes, they wanted a good bit of power to sound their best, but if you paired them up with an adequate amplification, they provided deep, powerful tone for days. So, mission accomplished; having secured these cabs, the mystery was over, right? But rumors are funny. Just when you think the story is done and over, new wrinkles break the surface. Terry Buddingh first piqued my interest by claiming that he actually knew Wayne Jones. “Really? He’s a real dude, and not just some made up brand name?” Then, Terry goes on to tell me that he’s trying to convince Wayne to start making cabs again. “That’d be great!” Oh, and this time around, he’s going to make them powered cabs ” Uh oh … I’m getting sucked back into the mystery!”

Read more ►

 

 


 

USER REVIEWS

André Berry

“When you get behind the wheel of a Ferrari and step on the gas, you quickly realize what you’ve been missing out on….So it is with Wayne Jones Amps. I couldn’t believe how much beef and clarity I’d had been missing out on…”

“These amps are just light years beyond what anyone else is doing!”

 

Nate Phillips ( Nathaniel Phillips)

“The Boldest Sounding Bass Amp On The Planet! The Wayne Jones System is here for those of us that demand our live bass sound to be equal in quality to what we hear in a high end studio. Accept no Substitutes, this is the real deal”

 

Paul Adamy

“Wayne Jones Audio is all you need to know when it comes to bass amplification. His gear is simply the best. No matter what style of music you play or what type of bass you play, the sound of your instrument comes through loud & clear!”

 

Tim George

“Very honored, humbled,and happy to be an official endorsee of Wayne Jones Audio designed by Australian bassist Wayne Jones. It some of the best bass gear I have ever played through from the WJ Pre amp to the many lines of speaker cabinets he has designed. Not only do they sound incredible, they are light weight!! Thanks Wayne!!!!!!”

 

Carl Young

“The cabinets are from an amp builder, Wayne Jones who lives in Melbourne Australia. He’s a Genius of acoustics, and any serious bass player might wanna check out his site.”

 

Arlington Houston

“Wayne! I want to thank you again for the fine craftsmanship and audiophile technology. Your cabs are the best speakers I’ll will ever own.”

 

Don Adams

“I just had the honor and privilege to play through the best bass rig on the planet ! …
Wayne Jones AUDIO bass rig
2000 watts of pure power
Thick, punchy, clean, and powerful
It sound like someone took a cloth and polished each note before it was released from the speaker!”

 


 

September 6, 2016 

USER REVIEW

Review of the single powered WJ 1×10 bass guitar cabinet

Wayne,

I’ve spent some time with the WJ 1×10. It’s everything you said it would be. Good, even response throughout the range of whichever instrument I play through it.

I have old Yamaha BB-5000’s (actually 3 of them). I was an early purchaser after trying out a prototype that Nathan East let me play on, back in 1984. One is strung with a Low-B. The WJ 1×10 reproduces this bass just like my headphones (Sony MDR-7506), or my studio monitors (Dynaudio BM6a). Nice and even, no bumps in any particular range (i.e., no boomy low-midrange, no honky high-midrange).

I’ve also played my acoustic double bass, with a Realist Copper Pickup, through the WJ 1×10. Same evenness, and it seems to let the growl come through very musically. The bass sound coming out of the speaker is the same sound of the bass, or as much as a piezo can deliver — only louder.

My Moog Taurus 3 Bass Pedals are HUGE sounding – which they are supposed to be. The hi-fi nature of your cabinet works great for the synth bass – ALL the frequencies come through evenly, once again in a very musical way.

I’m using an Acoustic Image Clarus amp. But only the preamp out to the WJ 1×10. I pretty much run the EQ flat — I like the sound of my instruments, and don’t need to color them much.

A few times, I’ve simply plugged a bass into a Preamp-DI (Fishman Pro-EQ Platinum Bass), and then into the WJ 1×10. Works fine.

I also experimented a bit with mic’ing the WJ 1×10 (some quick recording of only the speaker, not the tweeter) with a Shure Beta 52A – better than DI’ing! Now, if I can convince the sound-guys to do this over a DI, or at least together, it would be awesome!

A little off the track. Are you aware of the Phil Jones Ear-Box? I picked one up, and plugged it into the Speakon Out of the WJ 1×10, selected Input-Link. It supposedly puts no load (or very little) on the amp. I position it behind me, up on a mic stand. It’s VERY useful when I play upright. Nice monitor for intonation. 😉

Anyway, back to your speaker… I’m very satisfied with this powered cabinet. It’s just what I was looking for – portable, powerful, great-sounding, and musical. I’m very glad I found you!

I have ordered two road cases for the WJ1x10. So… I’d like to purchase the passive 1×10, if I may. 😉 I will need to fill that empty 2nd road case.

 

Thanks for a great product!
Lloyd

Lloyd’s Update – 16th Sept 2016

Happy user review of the WJ 1×10 Stereo/Mono Bass CabinetsHaving signed off with:
“I have ordered two road cases for the WJ1x10. So… I’d like to purchase the passive 1×10, if I may. 😉 I will need to fill that empty 2nd road case.”
Well he did indeed buy the passive 1×10 to make up the 1000 Watt 1×10 / 500 Watts per side pair.

“Wayne,
Got the passive speaker a couple days ago. Twice as much awesomeness!

Just have to tell you… I was playing through my studio monitors, about 2 months ago, asking myself, “Why can’t there be some bass speakers that sound smooth, even, high-end, and with some useable stage volume?”
Oh, and portable! 😉

I went hunting and found your speakers. So glad that I did!
Thanks!”

 

 


 

December 5, 2015 

USER REVIEW

Joe saluting his WJ 2×10 Power Bass Cabinet & WJBP Stereo Bass Pre-amp rigJoe posted this great update review of his WJ 2×10 Power Bass Cabinet & WJBP Stereo Bass Pre-amp on Facebook

“My WJ rig pays itself off in spades in this situation. I play a lot of wedding and corporate events where your crammed into a small place such as tonight. This rig operates punchy and clearly at low volumes for a dinner set. it won’t mess with your drummers kick drum and you can crank it beautifully for the last dance set. I truly Love Em”

 

 


 

June 3, 2015 

USER REVIEW

“I wanted to share with you a truly awesome piece of Aussie gear I’ve added to my arsenal this past weekend.”

Big thank you to Jockerz (Joe) on Oz Bass Forum for a great user review of his recent purchase, WJ 2×10 Power Bass Cabinet & WJBP Stereo Bass Pre-amp.
Read more